Friends & Family….

 

RFH_WordCloud2‘Just as the river never forgets that it’s goal is the sea, so friendship never forgets that it’s only reason for existing is to love people.’ Paulo Coelho

I was thinking about this subject, then out of the blue I got an email from a fellow blogger, a book review of ‘ The Importance of Friendship and Family in the Elvyverse & Beyond’ by Barb Caffrey. Her and her late husband, Author Michael B Caffrey, created  characters that didn’t exactly have traditional families to call upon. Together they wrote the fantastic Elvyverse series. Check out their blog at Elvyverse.wordpress.com.

This brought me back to the many friends I had that made my family their own. I grew up the eldest of five children. Though we came from a very huge family, something we didn’t find out until we were much older, it was just my four siblings, mom, dad a few relatives and myself in the earlier days. My mom was a very strong woman who put her kids first. We always felt loved. Her entire focus and life surrounded us. Our home was a safe haven to many of our friends who had no way to go. Once they became apart of our family, mom treated them the same she did her own kids. This went on for many years, friends came and friends went, but they always felt loved when they came to our home.

Recently, I have been reflecting on my own childhood, my family, and the many friends that came in and out of my life. I was very fortunately to have love. Sometimes I must admit I took this all for granted. Even though my family was a very close knit one when we were younger, as an adult I became more of a loner and drifted away on my own.

image

However  I do agree that having great family and friends around is very important. It can be heart- breaking when some friendships turn sour or end abruptly. This is a sharp reminder that we should never take our relationships for granted. There are many lonely people out there, but I have also met so many wonderful people that treated me far better than some family members. Love is universal and having love in our lives is necessary. I do share the opinion with the Author Michael B. Caffrey and his wife Barb Caffrey that we can create non traditional families and sometimes have the same joy and experiences with others as we would our own families.

Let’s cherish the people in our lives, whether they are family or not. Everyone shows up in our lives for a reason, some only for a season….

image.jpg

SSS

To my sons K&K…..will always love u….mom

image

Tuesday April 12th…Holetown Barbados…

 

6 thoughts on “Friends & Family….

  1. To have support from family and friends is always great thing as long as it is genuine. We all need words of encouragement from time to time. I’m very picky with people I let into my space because there’s some people out there with too much negative energy for me. I refuse to deal with any negativity. I must admit I don’t speak to all of my family but the ones that I do I love dearly and cherish them. The same with my friends I appreciate my friends that has been there for me like family. There’s plenty of times when my family wasn’t there for me and my friends were. Healthy relationships to me is an necessity of like. We a need it in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

