Acts of kindness….

43d0de23657822829d39a8ae268bb833

He had a deep voice and a heavy Jamaican accent. He came across as  having something to say, but as I continued to listen, it was evident that he was making no sense, yet I stood there in Mc. Donalds attentively listening to him. I could tell he just wanted to be heard….

My mind traveled back to earlier that day. I  was standing at the bottom of the stairs leading up to the subway platform hoping someone would help me carry my heavy bag. A middle aged white man came along and picked up the bag and placed it on the platform. The packed train arrived, and as I entered another white man seated in the seat next to the door quickly scooped up his belongings and offered me his seat…..

random-acts-of-kindness-2012.jpg

A few days before these events occurred, feelings of frustration and anger were getting the best of me. I had spent my entire life going the extra mile for people. I was the one always ready to help out. I went as far as to put other’s needs before mines time after time. I was thinking that I needed to change.

What about you? How many times have you been disappointed or even betrayed when all you did was show kindness? How many times were you wrongfully accused? Incidents like these are all too common. I was beginning to think that being there for some people was more like ‘acts of stupidity’ ……Yet deep down inside I knew that changing my personality and who I am shouldn’t be done due to the actions of others. There is a lot of negativity out there, but so is  good people.

I have since realized that my ‘Acts of kindness’ are not about how others receive me, but my own perception of myself. I am the one who has to look into the mirror and embrace my own strengths and flaws. I get to decide what role I contribute while I am here on this earthly journey. So I will continue being me, and for every ‘Act of kindness’ I give it seems as though the rewards are much much more……..Mother-Teresa-Quotes-Small-Acts-Of-Kindness-7

Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind. ― Henry James

SSS

Follow me…..

 

2 thoughts on “Acts of kindness….

Leave a Reply

