Obsession Thursday’s – Series 2……..I love food….

image

 

I just have a thing for food…

Last week Thursday was the first in a series of things I obsess with. Today I want to share with you my love for food. I love eating, and most of all I love eating my own dishes. I first transistioned to a vegetarian diet a few years back. This lasted for 3 years then out of boredom I resorted to meat dishes, especially anything chicken.

A year ago, I wanted to shred a few pounds and focused more on overall nutrition and clean eating, so the meat had to go. I realized that I would have to become creative in meal planning as the choices of vegetarian dishes that were available sucked. So I begun preparing all kinds of fancy dishes, and today I want to share one of my favorites with you.

Kidney Bean & Lentil Peas Salad

Here is what you will need to prepare this dish.

1/2 teaspoon of diced sweet peppers      1/4 teaspoon of red diced onions, a few uncooked baby spinach leaves, a few slices of cucumber, 1/4 teaspoon of cranberries, a dash of blue cheese (optional), 1/2 cup kidney beans, 1/4 cup lentil peas, 1/2 teaspoon Onions, dash of Ginger, 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes   1 flour/ whole wheat tortilla, a dash of salt (optional)

Cook the kidney beans and lentil peas in a medium pot with water until fully cooked, add onions, ginger and tomatoes and 1/2 cup of water, simmer on low until it becomes a nice creamy sauce. Adding salt and pepper to season is optional as I try to stay away from seasonings. (Fresh herbs such as  thyme, rosemary and sweet basil can be added for a rich taste).

In a medium frying pan add a dash of olive oil, place tortilla and let sit for about 1 minute, turn once. Place tortilla on a plate and add your (uncooked) spinach leaves, slices of cucumber, diced sweet peppers and diced red onions.

Add the kidney beans and lentil peas cream sauce mixture, garnish with cranberries and sprinkle with blue cheese. Fold over tortilla and cut into 3 triangular sections with a cooking scissors….

( It’s important that your kidney beans are fully cooked, and the sauce is creamy and flavored to suit your individual taste).

This red bean and lentil peas cream sauce on a bed of white or brown  rice makes a great dinner time meal. I love being very creative in the kitchen. I am a salad freak and I add salads and greens  to most of my dishes.

Tortillas are fun and  and can be used with  many simple dishes. Check out below, I made a tuna salad with cranberries  on a bed of spinach.

 

image

Eating fresh vegetables is easy as being Caribbean, most of our dishes included freshly home grown vegetables and salad. It’s important that my meals are colorful and nutritious as well.

Many busy moms can relate to taking care of everyone and not finding enough time for themselves. That was me until I realized that no one is going to take care of me but me. So I find time to eat a well balanced diet and take care of my body.

Other foods that I tend to cook a lot are fresh salmon, fresh tuna,  loads of vegetable dishes. I can never get enough spinach. I love eggplant, sweet potatoes,beets, broccoli, green beans and most vegetables.

Cooking can be so much fun when you become creative, there is no one way to prepare a meal. Adding fresh herbs for me makes most meals come alive. Sprinkle some fresh sweet basil and rosemary and olive oil on your vegetables. Cooking them in the oven helps to seal that moisture and flavor. Be careful not to over cook them.

When alone set the table nicely, have a tall glass of water or maybe a glass of wine if you care to. Take time to relax, chew your food, let it digest, and most importantly, take time for you…

SSS

 

 

image

Visit the Caribbean….Surf side Restaurant, Barbados…

A great place to eat……

‘The first wealth is health.’ Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

 

One thought on “Obsession Thursday’s – Series 2……..I love food….

  1. Pingback: Obsession Thursday’s – Series 2……..I love food…. | Sunshinesoulsister

Leave a Reply

